Rootline

  1. SLUB Dresden
  2. Collections
  3. Digital Collections
  4. Terms of Use for Digital Collections

Terms of Use for Digital Collections

General information

SLUB is committed to the dissemination of knowledge with as few technical, legal or physical barriers as possible. We therefore make digital content available in the public domain or under free licenses, with due regard to the applicable law. SLUB's licenses, rights or usage instructions are stated for each collection and successively for each object.

For this reason, you should above all be able to freely use and distribute reproductions of works for which the copyright protection has already expired. These digital objects are therefore generally made available under the Public Domain Mark 1.0. You may copy, modify, distribute and perform these works, even for commercial purposes, without having to ask for permission in any way.

Digital objects whose originals derive from other institutions or which may not be published in the public domain for copyright or ancillary copyrights reasons are subject to terms and conditions of use or licensing that allow as free of use and re-use as possible.

Regarding digital objects made available under the Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 4.0 License, you may reproduce and redistribute their content, modify and build upon the work for any purpose, provided that you cite SLUB and/or the owning institution as the source. You shall also use the same license CC-BY-SA 4.0 if redistributed.

For digital objects made accessible under "Free Access - Reserved Rights", the following applies: you may use them for scientific and private purposes free of charge, provided you cite the complete source including the name of the author, but you may not modify them. The commercial use of these objects is subject to authorization and usually a fee, and requires the written consent of the copyright holder, who has the right to prohibit use on a case-by-case basis. The General Terms and Conditions of Business, and the Library Fees and Charges of SLUB or of SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek apply.

Citation of Source

When using a digital object, the owning institution (if different from SLUB), SLUB or SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek and – in the case of photographs – the photographer must be named. In the case of online publications, we additionally recommend the indication of the PURL/URN as well as the license/rights notice. Recommended sources:

Prints
Manuscripts and unique items including indication of the signature
Picture documents from the holdings of SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek with indication of the photographer
Image holdings from partner institutions

For image holdings from partner institutions, the respective copyright holder and license for each object are listed:

Images of works of art and collection items

In the case of images of works of art and collection items, the location of the original must also be mentioned. There must be no doubt regarding the classification of image and its proof of origin, for example:

Specimen copy

If you use one of our digital objects for scientific or private purposes, please send us a specimen copy or proof of publication. This is obligatory for commercial use. 

Individual reproductions / Digitisation

Individual reproductions can be ordered in various formats and resolutions (order form). The General Terms and Conditions of Business, and the Library Fees and Charges of SLUB or of SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek apply.

Digital copies that have been produced on demand will be published in the Digital Collections of SLUB or SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek. As a result they are freely accessible and available on a long-term basis.

 

Last updated: 1 October 2019

Sie sind hier

  1. SLUB Dresden
  2. Sammlungen
  3. Digitale Sammlungen
  4. Nutzungsbestimmungen

Nutzungsbestimmungen für die Digitalen Sammlungen

Allgemeines

Die SLUB engagiert sich für die Verbreitung von Wissen mit möglichst geringen technischen, rechtlichen oder physischen Barrieren. Wir stellen deshalb digitale Inhalte unter sorgfältiger Beachtung des jeweils geltenden Rechts bevorzugt gemeinfrei oder unter freien Lizenzen zur Verfügung. Die Lizenz-, Rechte- oder Nutzungshinweise der SLUB werden für jede Kollektion und sukzessive für jedes Objekt angegeben.

Entsprechend sollen Sie insbesondere Reproduktionen von Werken, an denen der Urheberrechtsschutz erloschen ist, frei verwenden und verbreiten können. Diese digitalen Objekte werden daher in der Regel unter der Public Domain Mark 1.0 zugänglich gemacht. Sie dürfen diese Werke kopieren, verändern, verbreiten und aufführen, sogar zu kommerziellen Zwecken, ohne irgendwie um Erlaubnis bitten zu müssen.

Für digitale Objekte, deren Originalvorlagen aus anderen Institutionen stammen oder die aus urheber- oder leistungsschutzrechtlichen Gründen nicht gemeinfrei veröffentlicht werden dürfen, gelten Nutzungs- oder Lizenzbedingungen, die eine möglichst freie Nutzung und Weiterverwendung ermöglichen.

Für digitale Objekte, die unter der Creative Commons Lizenz CC-BY-SA 4.0 zugänglich gemacht wurden, gilt: Sie dürfen diese Inhalte vervielfältigen und weiterverbreiten, das Material für beliebige Zwecke verändern und darauf aufbauen, sofern Sie die SLUB und/oder den Vorlagengeber als Quelle nennen und im Falle der Weitergabe dieselbe Lizenz verwenden.

Für digitale Objekte, die unter „Freier Zugang - Rechte vorbehalten“ zugänglich gemacht wurden, gilt: Sie können diese Inhalte für wissenschaftliche und private Zwecke unter Angabe der vollständigen Quelle inkl. Nennung des Urhebers gebührenfrei verwenden, jedoch nicht verändern. Die kommerzielle Nutzung dieser Objekte ist genehmigungs- und in der Regel kostenpflichtig und bedarf der schriftlichen Zustimmung des Rechteinhabers vorbehaltlich des Rechts, die Nutzung im Einzelfall zu untersagen. Es gelten die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen und die Gebühren- und Entgeltordnung der SLUB bzw. der SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek.

Quellenangabe

Bei der Verwendung eines digitalen Objekts sind der Vorlagengeber (falls abweichend von SLUB), die SLUB beziehungsweise die SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek sowie - im Fall von Fotografien - der Fotograf zu nennen. Bei Online-Publikationen empfehlen wir zusätzlich die Angabe der PURL/URN sowie den Lizenz-/Rechtehinweis. Empfohlene Quellenangaben:

Drucke
Handschriften und unikale Bestände mit Angabe der Signatur
Bilddokumente aus Beständen der SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek mit Angabe des Fotografen
Bildbestände aus Partnereinrichtungen

Für Bildbestände aus Partnereinrichtungen sind der jeweilige Rechteinhaber und die Lizenz an jedem Objekt genannt:

Abbildungen von Kunstwerken und Sammlungsobjekten

Bei Abbildungen von Kunstwerken und Sammlungsobjekten ist zusätzlich der Standort des Originals zu nennen. Es darf kein Zweifel an der Zuordnung von Bild und Herkunftsnachweis entstehen, wie zum Beispiel:

Belegexemplare

Falls Sie eines unserer digitalen Objekte für wissenschaftliche oder private Zwecke verwenden, bitten wir Sie um Zusendung eines Belegexemplars oder Publikationsnachweises. Bei kommerziellen Nutzungen ist dies obligatorisch.

Einzelanfertigungen / Digitalisierungswunsch

Einzelanfertigungen können in verschiedenen Formaten und Auflösungen kostenpflichtig erworben werden (Bestellformular). Hierfür gelten die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen und die Gebühren- und Entgeltordnung der SLUB bzw. der SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek.

Digitalisate, die auf Nutzerwunsch angefertigt wurden, werden in den Digitalen Sammlungen der SLUB bzw. der SLUB/Deutsche Fotothek veröffentlicht. Sie sind somit frei zugänglich und langfristig verfügbar.

 

Stand: 01. Oktober 2019